Skip to main content

University Awards: Faculty and Staff

The Ohio State University recognizes excellence in teaching, service, diversity enhancement and scholarship through a variety of awards programs. Faculty and staff are honored for their distinguished contributions to the betterment of the university community. The below list highlights personnel from the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, who have been recognized with university awards. Visit the University Awards and Recognition archive for a complete list of all recognized faculty and staff.

President and Provost's Award for Distinguished Faculty Service

The President and Provost's Award for Distinguished Faculty Service honors faculty members whose contributions to the development and implementation of university policies and programs through non-administrative roles have been extensive and have made documentable impact on the quality of the university. The recipients also have continued to provide effective teaching and have maintained an active program of research, scholarship, or creative work. Recipients are nominated by members of the university community and selected by a committee of faculty, administrators and previous recipients.

2012: K. "Cheena" Srinivasan

Provost's Award for Distinguished Teaching by a Lecturer

All lecturers, senior lecturers and other associated faculty who have taught undergraduate, or graduate/professional courses in the last three years are eligible for this award.

2019: Satya Seetharaman

Distinguished Scholar Award

The Distinguished Scholar Award, established in 1978, recognizes exceptional scholarly accomplishments by senior professors who have compiled a substantial body of research. The award is supported by the Office of Research. Recipients are nominated by their departments and chosen by a committee of senior faculty, including several past recipients of the award.

2011: Mohammad Samimy

Awards for Distinguished Teaching

The Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching honors faculty members for superior teaching. Recipients are nominated by present and former students and colleagues and are chosen by a committee of alumni, students, and faculty. The recipients will be inducted into the university's Academy of Teaching, which provides leadership for the improvement of teaching at Ohio State.

2014: Robert Siston

2010: Richard Freuler

2009: Ahmet Kahraman

2008: Dennis Guenther

2006: Blaine Lilly

2005: Gary Kinzel