Two MAE faculty win the 2023 Lumley Research Award

Posted: May 30, 2023

Two Ohio State mechanical and aerospace engineering faculty were awarded the Lumley Research Award by the College of Engineering Honors, Honorary Degrees, and Awards Committee at the 26th Annual Faculty Awards Banquet on April 28, 2023.

Jeremy Seidt, a research associate professor in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and co-director of the Dynamic Mechanics of Materials Laboratory, and Alok Sutradhar, an assistant professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering and director of the Multifunctional Materials and Intelligent Design Lab, were recognized for their research contributions and accomplishments over five years at Ohio State.

The Lumley Engineering Research Awards are presented to a select group of outstanding researchers in the College of Engineering who have shown exceptional ability and success in pursuing research of a fundamental or applied nature.

Jeremy Seidt

Seidt’s research focuses on the mechanical behavior of material systems under dynamic impact loading.  He is currently a leading global researcher in this field.

As part of a team with the Federal Aviation Administration, NASA and George Mason University he has contributed to the development of MAT 224, a widely used material model for dynamic mechanical simulation events in the code LS-DYNA.  This material model has become the framework of choice for industry to conduct CAE analysis on a variety of engineered components under dynamic load conditions.

“I'm really thrilled about winning the award,” Seidt said. “Going back to the mid-1990s, I've been involved with this University in many different roles: UG student, MS Student, PhD student, Post Doc, Research Staff and now Research Faculty.  I love my job and I love the University.  Getting recognized through the Lumley Award for doing a job that I really enjoy has been truly wonderful.  I'm appreciative to all the people that helped me along the way, from MAE leadership who nominated me, to the faculty, students and staff that work in the Dynamic Mechanics of Materials Lab and the MAE department.  It really means a lot to me.”


Sutradhar was given this award for his research in developing multifunctional multiphysics topology optimization methodologies tailored for additive manufacturing for engineering and biomedical applications.

“I am very thankful to the College of Engineering for this recognition and honored to be included among such a distinguished group of faculty members. I am proud to be part of the College of Engineering at OSU, and this acknowledgment serves as a source of inspiration for me to continue to strive for excellence in my research endeavors,” Sutradhar said. “I would like to extend my sincere gratitude to the exceptional graduate students who contributed to this research award with their outstanding dedication and invaluable contributions.”