2019 Honors and Awards Ceremony celebrates exceptional alumni and students

Posted: April 19, 2019

The annual Honors and Awards Ceremony in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering took place April 11, 2019. High-achieving students and alumni were honored from the nuclear, aerospace and mechanical engineering programs.

Awardees at the 2019 Honors and Awards Ceremony. Credit: Karen Evans

Distinguished alumni applying their engineering education in a wide range of fields were acknowledged at the event.

E.G. Bailey Entrepreneurship Award
Bruce Lavash (BS ME ’77, MS ME ’78)
Presented to alumni who have invented new products, processes or procedures that have been successfully manufactured, adapted or utilized.

Ada Irene Pressman Award
Margaret Mkhosi (MS NE ’03, PHD NE ’07)
Presented to high-achieving alumni who have overcome significant challenges.

Rudolph Edse Award
Timothy Priser (BS AAE ’87)
Presented to alumni who have demonstrated excellence in space engineering and sciences.

Alan Gregory Loofourrow Business Achievement Award
Jacqueline DiMarco (BS ME ’95, MS ME ‘96)
Presented to alumni who have distinguished themselves in their chosen business or industry.

Thomas French Achievement Award
Ahmet Kahraman (PHD ME ’92)
Presented to alumni who have distinguished themselves as educators.

Garvin L. Von Eschen Award for Leadership in Aeronautical Engineering
Robert “Joe” Shaw (BS AAE ’70, MS AAE ’70, PHD AAE ’79)
Presented to alumni who have demonstrated the technical and administrative excellence to lead successful aerospace projects and organizations.

Ralph Boyer Young Achiever Award
Onome Scott-Emuakpor (BS ME ’04, MS ME ’07)
Presented to alumni who have risen rapidly in their chosen profession and made significant contributions before the age of 40.

Marion Smith Service Award
Douglas Ball (BS AAE ’74, MS AAE ’75)
Presented to alumni who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to their community, the university and/or society.

Stillman Robinson Lifetime Achievement Award
Willard “Norm” Shade (BS ME ’70, MS ME ’70)
Presented to alumni who have distinguished themselves over their lifetime in their chosen professions.

The ceremony included recognition of students for research, academic achievement, teaching and outreach.

Outstanding Research Awards
The purpose of the Outstanding Research Award is to recognize students for their research contributions within the department.

James Lazenby
Evan Crowe
Dustin Goetz
Noah Darwiche
Matthew Little
Thomas Malkus

Top Academic Awards
The purpose of the Top Academic Awards is to recognize the students in each major with the highest cumulative point-hour ratio in their respective classes.

Mechanical Engineering Sophomores: Nick Carcione, Andrew Grassi, Brigid Hayes, Matthew Hozdic, Megan McMahon, Jacob Paugh and Andrew Yates
Mechanical Engineering Juniors: Richard Wainio and Christina Yang
Mechanical Engineering Senior: Michael Lloyd
Aerospace Engineering Sophomore: Thomas Bozzi
Aerospace Engineering Junior: Jacob Beardslee
Aerospace Engineering Senior: Madhav Shah

Teaching, leadership and thesis awards

Mechanical Engineering Graduate Teaching Associate Award: Navni Verma and Nathaniel Wood
Aerospace Engineering Graduate Teaching Associate Award: Ali Hussain
Mechanical Engineering Undergraduate Teaching Associate Award: TJ Erb

Outstanding Senior in Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering: Collin O’Neill
Presented to an aerospace engineering student who has not only excelled academically, but has also demonstrated a great deal of leadership and community involvement.

The Rob Wolf Outstanding Senior Award: Catherine Adams
Finalists: Morgan Nash and Angella Volchko
Presented to a senior mechanical engineering student in recognition of academic excellence and active participation in department, college, university or community organizations.

Hirschvogel Best Master’s Thesis Award: Benjamin Goodpaster

Learn more about the alumni awards and view a list of past winners or view photographs of the event.

Categories: UndergraduateAlumni