You are here

Charles El-helou Earns Third Place at Denman Undergraduate Research Forum

a photo of Charles El-helou and his posterCharles El-helouUndergraduate students from across campus were celebrated at the 24th annual Denman Undergraduate Research Forum.

Four department students were among the 30 students representing the College of Engineering at the distinguished event. Each student produced a standout project as a result of their hard work and dedication.

Mechanical engineering major Charles El-helou won third place in the structural and material fabrication and design category for his project, “Design and Fabrication of Magnetoelastic Metamaterials for Enhancing the Adaptation of Static and Dynamic Properties.” El-helou was mentored by Assistant Professor Ryan Harne.

The following department students also presented at the 2019 Denman:

  • Justin Clark, aeronautical and astronautical engineering, mentored by Professor John Horack: “Analysis of Crewed Missions Enabled by a Biomodal Nuclear Thermal Electric Propulsion System”
  • Adam DeNise, mechanical engineering, mentored by Assistant Professor Ryan Harne: “Implementing 3D Digital Image Correlation to Study the Dynamics of Globally-Coupled Multistable Structures”
  • Collin O'Neill, aeronautical and astronautical engineering, mentored by Professor Mo Samimy: “Active Flow Control in a Compact High-Speed Inlet/Diffuser Model”

Multiple department faculty also served as advisors to student awardees in other departments. Harne advised electrical and computer engineering students Abdullahi Inshaar (first place, Structural and Material Fabrication Design category) and Hamil Shah. Assistant Professor Jonathan Song advised electrical and computer engineering student Mia Zhang (Pelotonia Program Award - first place), and Associate Professor Carlos Castro mentored biomedical engineering student Sedona Cady.

For a complete list of 2019 Denman Research Forum winners, visit the Office of Undergraduate Research & Creativity Inquiry website.

Department students have historically done well in the Denman Forum, with students often ranking within the top three in their respective categories yearly.

Justin Clark, Adam DeNis and Collin O'NeillJustin Clark, Adam DeNise and Collin O'Neill

by Kari Fletcher, department communications intern