You are here

Duo recipient of AFRL/DAGSI Ohio Student-Faculty Research Fellowship

Associate Professor Rebecca Dupaix and mechanical engineering graduate student Peter Bonavita were recently selected to receive one of 2018’s Southwestern Ohio Council for Higher Education (SOCHE) fellowship awards to support their research in aerospace technology.

Bonavita and DupaixPeter Bonavita and Professor Rebecca DupaixThe program—officially known as the Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL)/Dayton Area Graduate Studies Institute (DAGSI) Ohio Student-Faculty Research Fellowship—is funded primarily through DAGSI by the Ohio Board of Regents. It aims to support graduate science and engineering students and faculty who conduct research in areas targeted by the AFRL at Wright Patterson Air Force Base. These target areas include a “sensors” category, under which Dupaix and Bonavita will complete their work.

Dupaix and Bonavita’s project, “Thermal Management for Heterogeneous Integration to Enable Reconfigurable Radio Frequency (RF) Technology (MS),” will develop simulations to investigate thermal effects in electrical circuits, in order to better predict the heat output of various circuitry components during operation. This will ultimately inform circuit designers with thermal management information, enabling thermal management to be an integral part of the increasingly-complex design process.

“DAGSI is a very competitive award made to only a few faculty/student teams each year,” says Dupaix. “The award is based on a combination of the student's academic credentials plus how highly the research proposal is rated by AFRL.”

As a component of the fellowship, Bonavita will spend eight consecutive weeks working on-site at AFRL, headquartered at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, Ohio.

Bonavita comments that receiving this fellowship is a dream scenario for him. “I’m from Dayton, so the opportunity to partner with DAGSI and AFRL in my hometown is extra special,” he says. “Furthermore, this project allows me to apply my mechanical simulation background to cutting-edge electronics, which is an exciting new frontier area for both Professor Dupaix and myself. I’m excited by the multidisciplinary nature of our work, and thrilled to spend the summer alongside the team at AFRL.”

Among 2018’s other fellowship recipients are Jeffrey Ethier (Professor Lisa Hall) of the William G. Lowrie Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; and Trevor Dean (Professor Waleed Khalil) and Roman Fragasse (Professor Waleed Khalil) of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.