You are here

Awards ceremony honors outstanding students, faculty and alumni

The Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering recognized high-achieving students and alumni on April 20, at its 2018 Honors & Awards Banquet. Citations were presented to representatives from each of the department’s three programs—mechanical, aeronautical and astronautical and nuclear engineering. Photos of the event may be viewed here.

awardeesAwardees in attendance at the 2018 Honors & Awards Banquet. Credit Karen Evans

Student awards encompassed significant contributions in leadership, research, outreach, teaching and academic achievement.

Outstanding Leadership and Research Award: Peter Vuyk
Outstanding Leadership Award: Ben Tedrick

Top Academic Awards

Mechanical Engineering Sophomore: Hannah Barnes
Mechanical Engineering Juniors: Michael Lloyd and Ted Sender
Mechanical Engineering Seniors: Clint Teece and Peter Bonavita
Aerospace Engineering Sophomore: Andrew Sabovik
Aerospace Engineering Junior: Madhav Shah
Aerospace Engineering Seniors: Lucas Mairalo-Cruz and Byung Joon Ahn

Outstanding Senior in Aeronautical & Astronautical Engineering: Wilson Flores

The Rob Wolf Outstanding Senior Award is presented to a senior mechanical engineering student. In memory of Rob Wolf, a 1997 graduate of the Department of Mechanical Engineering, it recognizes students who excel academically while taking an active role in department, college, university, or community organizations. This year’s finalists were Rachel Knapp and Derek Hilfer, while the recipient was Kreteeka Chaudhury.

Teaching awards

Mechanical Engineering Graduate Teaching Associate Award: Emmanuel Babayemi
Aerospace Engineering Graduate Teaching Associate Award: Daniel Richie
Mechanical Engineering Undergraduate Teaching Associate Award: Matthew Burns


The ceremony included acknowledgment of department alumni, who have distinguished themselves within their fields. Specific award details and past winners may be viewed on the related webpage.

E.G. Bailey Entrepreneurship Award

Presented to alumni who have invented new products, processes or procedures that have been successfully manufactured, adapted or utilized.
Presented by: Professor Mo Samimy
Recipient: Joel Hiltner

Rudolph Edse Award

Presented to alumni who have demonstrated excellence in space engineering and sciences.
Presented by: Professor John Horack
Recipient: Ann Over

Alan Gregory Loofourrow Business Achievement Award

Presented to alumni who have distinguished themselves in their chosen business or industry.
Presented by: Professor Ahmet Selamet
Recipients: Ron Reese

Thomas French Achievement Award

Presented to alumni who have distinguished themselves as educators.
Presented by: Professor Carol Smidts
Recipient: Wes Hines
Presented by: Professor Emeritus Raj Singh
Recipient: Satish Nair

Garvin L. Von Eschen Award for Leadership in Aeronautical Engineering

Presented to alumni who have demonstrated the technical and administrative excellence to lead successful aerospace projects and organizations.
Presented by: Doug Ball, chair, Aerospace External Advisory Board
Recipient: Abdi Khodadoust

Ralph Boyer Young Achiever Award

Presented to alumni who have risen rapidly in their chosen profession and made significant contributions before the age of 40.
Presented by: Don Caudy
Recipient: Cullen Buie

Marion Smith Service Award

Presented to alumni who have distinguished themselves by their contributions to their community, the university and/or society.
Presented by: Professor Krishnaswamy “Cheena” Srinivasan
Recipient: Blaine Lilly

Stillman Robinson Lifetime Achievement Award

Presented to alumni who have distinguished themselves over their lifetime in their chosen professions.
Presented by: Professor Vish Subramaniam
Recipient: Max Holzer

Congratulations to all those honored during the 2018 Honors & Awards Banquet!