Bruns and Plattenburg Awarded Leo Beranek Student Medal for Excellence in Noise Control Studies

Posted: May 17, 2016

Joel Bruns, undergraduate student and Joseph Plattenburg, graduate student in the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering (MAE), were awarded the 2016 Leo Beranek Student Medal for Excellence in the Study of Noise Control by the Institute of Noise Control Engineering of the United States of America (INCE-USA).

Established by INCE-USA and the INCE Foundation in 2010, the medal recognizes excellence in the study of noise control by undergraduate and graduate students that have coursework in or related to noise control engineering, including practical applications. Ohio State has received 13 awards since 2011.

Candidates are selected by their academic institution and nominated by a faculty member. Bruns was nominated by Assistant Clinical Professor Jason Dryer and Plattenburg was nominated by Professor Rajendra Singh, MAE Faculty Emeritus.  Both Bruns and Plattenburg are graduating this semester.

From left to right: Joel Bruns, undergraduate medal winner currently working an internship with Ford Motor Company; Dr. Todd Rook, former vice president with the Institute of Noise Control Engineering (INCE-USA); and Dr. Joseph Plattenburg, graduate medal winner who will be working at Owens Corning.
Bruns, an undergraduate research assistant, was selected based upon his honors thesis, “Development of a Model-Based Exhaust Isolation System Design Procedure with a Focus on Interfacial Dynamics.”  He is also a recipient of a 2015 Outstanding Research Award as a member of MAE’s Undergraduate Honors Research Program.

Plattenburg’s PhD thesis, “Analytical Vibration Models for Plates and Shells with Combined Active and Passive Damping,” supports his doctoral research in the reduction of vibration and radiated sound from plate and shell structures.  Plattenburg has published three journal papers, four conference papers and received the 2015 I-INCE Young Professional Grant for Inter-Noise -- one of 15 young professionals selected worldwide.

The Beranek Medal is named for Professor Leo Beranek, an American acoustics expert, former MIT professor and a founder and former president of Bolt, Beranek and Newman who assisted in the creation of DARPAnet, which eventually became today’s internet.

Dr. Beranek is one of the few scientists to receive the National Medal of Science. “Student contributions to the betterment of techniques for the control of noise in buildings, vehicles and outdoors and of means for reducing noise produced by any loud source is readily sought and now recognized by this student medal,” Beranek said. “I am proud to be the namesake for this important student award.”