Alumni, Students and Educators Honored at 2016 MAE Honors & Awards Ceremony

Posted: April 13, 2016

The Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering annually honors alumni, students and educators at the MAE Honors and Awards Ceremony, held this year at MAE’s Scott Laboratory on April 1, 2016.

Ten outstanding alumni received awards in nine categories:

Michael Snyder, co-founder of Made In Space, Inc., received the E.G. Bailey Entrepreneurship Award for his passion and mission to further the advancement of manned spaceflight and space colonization.

The Award of Appreciation was presented to Ted Quinn by the Alumni Awards Committee for his advocacy, exemplary leadership and service to the department. Quinn is president of Technology Resources serving energy industry clients, and chair of the department’s Nuclear Engineering External Advisory Board.

Lara H. Harrington and Jacob Thomas received the Alan Gregory Loofbourrow Business Achievement Award.  Thomas is president of Clarcor, Inc. and Harrington is chief engineer at Honda R&D Americas, Inc.  The award is presented to alumni who distinguish themselves in their chosen business or industry.

The Ralph Boyer Young Achiever Award was given to Dan Prophater for his superb leadership and contribution to the automotive, power and aerospace industries.  Prophater is general manager of recycling operations for Advantage Metals Recycling, a subsidiary of the David J. Joseph Company.

Dr. Chandramouli Padmanabhan, exemplary educator, scholar and researcher, was recognized with the Thomas French Achievement Award, presented to alumni who have distinguished themselves as educators.  Padmanabhan is a faculty member with the Indian Institute of Technology Madras (IIT-M).

The Garvin L. Von Eschen Award was presented to Dr. Jack Jacobs, vice president and general manager with Honeywell Aerospace.  The award is presented to alumni who have demonstrated technical and administrative excellence in aerospace projects and organizations.

Dan Kimmet was presented with the Marion Smith Service Award for his contributions to the community, the university and society.  Previously with Eaton Corporation, Dan has chaired the department’s Mechanical Engineering External Advisory Board since 2007 and has been a strong advocate for the department’s academic mission.

The Rudolph Edse Award in Space Engineering, presented to Yiangos Mikellides, honors aerospace engineering alumni who have demonstrated excellence in space engineering and sciences.  He is a principal research engineer with NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory.

Ralph Rockow was honored with the Stillman Robinson Lifetime Achievement Award for a distinguished career and lifelong support of Ohio State and the department.  Rockow has received numerous honors and has served on the Ohio State Foundation Board of Directors.  He oversees operations of three wholly owned subsidiaries of Exodyne in Phoenix, Arizona.

20 students won awards for outstanding research and academics in mechanical and aerospace engineering.  The Rob Wolf Outstanding Senior Award went to Joshua Javor, who was the first undergraduate student to receive a Pelotonia Undergraduate Fellowship in 2015.

Undergraduate and graduate teaching awards were given to Mitch Eichler and Kirti Deo Mishra, respectively.  The Pi Tau Sigma Above and Beyond Award went to Dr. Robert Siston.

 “Through these recognitions, we celebrate the achievements of our distinguished alumni, talented students and dedicated educators,” said Ahmet Selamet, chair.

Category: Alumni