You are here

MAE Faculty to be Honored at 19th Annual College of Engineering Faculty Awards

The College of Engineering annually honors faculty members for outstanding teaching and research at the Distinguished Faculty Awards.  Five Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering faculty will be recognized on April 28, 2016.

Professor Jeffrey Bons will be recognized with the Ralph L. Boyer Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Engineering Innovation.  Named for the late Ralph L. Boyer, the award is presented to a faculty team or an individual faculty member who has made outstanding contributions to the improvement of undergraduate education.

Bons is director of The Gas Turbine Deposition Research Facility (GTDRF) at Ohio State.  Bons has developed state-of-the-art facilities for diagnosing turbine deposition mechanisms, as well as vetting effective design solutions.  These facilities are part of the Aerospace Research Center (ARC) located near Ohio State’s Don Scott Airport in Columbus, Ohio.

Professor Bharat Bhushan, Ohio Eminent Scholar, the Howard D. Winbigler Professor, Director of the Nanoproble Laboratory for Bio & Nanotechnology and Biomimetics, and Affiliated Faculty Member at the John Glenn College of Public Affairs at Ohio State will receive the Clara M. and Peter L. Scott Faculty Award for Excellence in Engineering Education. 

In honor of Peter Scott, a 1949 Ohio State graduate in electrical engineering who received an honorary doctoral degree in 1995, this award recognizes a senior faculty member who has achieved both national and international status as a leading educator and researcher.

Left to right: Jeffrey Bons, Lei R. Cao, Marcello Canova, Shaurya Prakash and Bharat BhushanAssociate Professor Lei R. Cao will be honored with the Lumley Interdisciplinary Research Award, named for John H. Lumley.  This award recognizes interdisciplinary research accomplishments that cut across departments of discipline boundaries.

 Cao founded the Nuclear Analysis and Radiation Sensor (NARS) Laboratory at The Ohio State University in 2010, including an external neutron beam facility at the Ohio State University Research Reactor (OSURR).  His research focus is the study of applied radiological nuclear physics and radiation science in addressing the challenging national need for counter nuclear threats, safe production of nuclear energy and characterizing materials’ property with nuclear methods, including the development of novel sensors to detect neutrons, gamma and X-rays.

Assistant Professors Shaurya Prakash and Marcello Canova will receive the Lumley Research Award recognizing research contributions and productivity.  The award is given to researchers who have shown exceptional activity and success in pursuing new knowledge of a fundamental or applied nature.

Prakash is director of the Microsystems and Nanosystems Laboratory focused on the design,  fabrication and characterization of microsystems  and nanosystems for applications in water purification, alternate and renewable energy and healthcare systems.  His research interests include nanofluidics and microfluidics, water purification, sustainable energy generation, diagnostic tools for nanosystems and bio-inspired micro and nanosystems.

Canova is an associate fellow at The Ohio State University’s Center for Automotive Research (CAR). His research interests include advanced automotive systems; hybrid and electric vehicles; advanced energy conversion and storage systems for automotive applications; waste-heat recovery for automotive systems; and analysis, optimization, and control of dynamic systems.

“We celebrate this recognition of our distinguished scholars,” said Ahmet Selamet, chair.