You are here

Speth and Gaitonde Receive 2015 ASME Robert T. Knapp Award

Rachelle Speth, PhD student, and Professor Datta Gaitonde, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, received the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) 2015 Robert T. Knapp Award recognizing their paper titled, “Near Field Pressure and Associated Coherent Structures of Excited Jets.” The award is presented for an outstanding original paper resulting directly from analytical or laboratory research.

Speth received her BS (2010) and MS (2012) degrees in aerospace engineering from Ohio State and is currently pursuing her PhD in aerospace engineering, with an expected graduation date of October 2015.  Her research, supported by the Air Force Office of Scientific Research, concentrates on understanding and controlling large scale structures and noise created by high speed commercial and military jets.

Professor Datta Gaitonde holds the John Glenn Chair and is an Ohio Research Scholar.  He directs the High-Fidelity Computational Multi-Physics Lab (HFCMPL) whose focus is on jet noise, shock interactions, flow control and scramjet flowpaths.  Gaitonde is deputy editor of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Journal, and a Fellow of the Wright-Patterson Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL), AIAA and ASME.

About ASME

ASME is a not-for-profit membership organization that enables collaboration, knowledge sharing, career enrichment, and skills development across all engineering disciplines, toward a goal of helping the global engineering community develop solutions to benefit lives and livelihoods. Founded in 1880 by a small group of leading industrialists, ASME has grown through the decades to include more than 140,000 members in 151 countries.