You are here

Seminar: Robotics and Bioengineering

Professor Chi Hwan Lee, Purdue University
Friday, November 8, 2019, 11:30 am
Scott Lab E525
201 W. 19th Ave.
Columbus, OH 43210


Advanced materials engineering and processing technologies provide means to realize a range of ultrathin, flexible and stretchable bio-integrated electronics, opening up a new prospect in many biomedical devices and technologies. The mechanical flexibility and stretchability allow the devices to intimately integrate with biological systems such as biological cells, organs, and skins at their length scale. The embedded semiconducting nanomaterials provide the functionalities that can monitor the clinically useful bio-signals with sufficient spatial and temporal controls. This presentation will introduce two different kinds of novel transfer printing methods by exploiting controlled ‘cracks’ that enable the physical separation of diverse bio-electronics from their original fabrication silicon wafer, thereby can be utilized in many wearable and implantable biomedical applications. Conformal skin-mountable sensors and cell- or tissue-injectable silicon nano-needles will be discussed to show the representative applications in wearable healthcare monitoring and intracellular/intratissue drug delivery. Discussions about the results of detailed experimental and theoretical studies will be followed to reveal the essential attributes of the materials, mechanics, fabrication processes, and system configurations.


Dr. Chi Hwan Lee is an Assistant Professor of Biomedical, Mechanical, and Materials Engineering at Purdue University. His research focus lies on the development of wearable healthcare monitoring systems. He obtained a Ph.D. degree (2013) in Mechanical Engineering at Stanford University. He is the recipient of the Technology Connect World National Top Innovation Award (2013), Purdue Faculty Award of Research Excellence (2017), Hanwha Advanced Materials Non-tenured Faculty Award (2018), Showalter Research Trust Award (2018), Purdue Seed for Success Award (2018), Outstanding Purdue Engineering Teacher Award (2018), NIH Trailblazer Young Investigator Award (2019), and KSEA Young Investigator Award (2019).