Department Overview

Department Mission Statement

The mission of the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering is the education of professionals in mechanical, aerospace, and nuclear engineering, the dissemination of knowledge and technology, and the development of innovative solutions to problems in these fields.

The Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering offers bachelor's degrees in mechanical engineering and aeronautical and astronautical engineering, and master's and doctoral degrees in mechanical, nuclear, and aeronautical and astronautical engineering.

The department’s $72.5 million building complex, the Peter L. and Clara M. Scott Laboratory, opened in 2006 and includes 14 modern classrooms and high-quality space for research laboratories. Departmental instructional and research activities include advanced transportation systems (automotive and aerospace), energy and environmental quality, materials and manufacturing, micro- and nanotechnology, nuclear energy, and bioengineering.  In July 2010, the Department of Mechanical Engineering completed a merger with the Department of Aerospace Engineering. This recent merger caps a rich history of progress in the disciplines of mechanical, aerospace and nuclear engineering.

We are proud of the extensive research programs and facilities that exist within the department. Our faculty adhere to the philosophy that true innovation depends upon the cooperation of academia, industry, and government working together to advance the goals of science and technology. Strong research relationships exist with the Air Force Research Laboratory, NASA Glenn Research Center, and GE Aviation. Department faculty also provide leadership for the OSU Nuclear Reactor Lab, SIMCenter, Center for Automotive Research, the Center for Precision Forming and the Smart Vehicle Center; the latter two being NSF Industry and University Cooperative Research Centers. 

Department faculty members participate in the university-wide Institute for Materials Research and the NSF Nanoscience and Engineering Center for affordable Nanoengineering of Polymeric Biomedical Microdevices, and provide leadership to two ongoing multi-institutional Department of Defense Multidisciplinary University Research Initiatives in cryogenic Peltier cooling and plasma assisted combustion.





Department Administration

Department Chair:
Vish Subramaniam

Associate Chair for Administration:

Rob Siston

Associate Chair for Graduate Programs:

Jeffrey Bons

Associate Chair Undergraduate Programs:

Blaine Lilly

Faculty Co-liaison of Alumni Relations:

Shaurya Prakash
David Hoelzle

Director, Nuclear Engineering Program:

L. Raymond Cao

Contact Information

Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
201 W. 19th Avenue
N350 Scott Laboratory
Columbus, Ohio 43210
(614) 292-2289

Click here for map and driving directions

Phone: (614) 292-0515

Phone: (614) 247-6605