Department Awards: Alumni

The Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering recognizes outstanding graduates of mechanical, aerospace and nuclear engineering and engineering mechanics. The awards are presented to alumni who have distinguished themselves in their chosen professions. Current award year winners are listed below and the complete lists may be viewed in the archives.

Nominations for each award may be submitted on the nominations webpage.

Stillman Robinson Lifetime Achievement Award

The Stillman Robinson Lifetime Achievement Award is presented to retired or emeritus alumni who have distinguished themselves over their lifetimes by contributing to the advancement of their chosen profession. Robinson joined Ohio State in 1878, and was the founding chairperson of the Department of Mechanical Engineering.  He was also one of the founders of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and received an Honorary Doctorate of Science degree from Ohio State in 1896. This was previously known as the Charles Kettering Lifetime Achievement Award.

2023: Mark Bartman


Rudolph Charles Edse Award in Space Engineering

The Rudolph Charles Edse Award in Space Engineering is presented to Aerospace Engineering Program alumni who have made significant contributions to successful engineering and/or scientific advances in space related products or programs.  Edse moved to Ohio State in 1950, becoming the director of the Rocket Research Laboratory. His research developed several possible propellant combinations, and determined their combustion characteristics and combustion stability limits.  He was also one of the first to study cryogenic rocket propellants.

2023: Carolyn Mercer


Garvin L. Von Eschen Award for Leadership in Aeronautical Engineering

The Garvin L. Von Eschen Award for Leadership in Aeronautical Engineering is presented to Aerospace Engineering Program alumni who have demonstrated technical and administrative excellence in leading successful aerospace projects and organizations. Von Eschen joined Ohio State in 1946 as the first chairman of the newly established Department of Aeronautical Engineering. During the next three decades, he provided vision and guidance to the growing department as it established highly rated undergraduate and graduate programs, as well as laboratories for aerodynamic and rocket research.

2023: Joe Manter


Thomas French Achievement Award

The Thomas French Achievement Award will be presented to alumni who have distinguished themselves as scholars and educators. French, a 1895 graduate of Ohio State, served as a professor of engineering drawing at his Alma Mater, introduced new teaching methods, and authored a popular textbook. He was awarded the Lamme Medal in 1943 for his achievements.

2023: Sudipto Mukherjee


Ralph Boyer Young Achiever Award

The Ralph Boyer Young Achiever Award is presented to alumni who have risen rapidly in their chosen profession, and made significant contributions to engineering products and/or programs before the age of 40. Boyer, a 1930 graduate of Ohio State, achieved chief engineer status, and contributed significantly to his company while still a young man.

2023: David Hoelzle & Arpit Mittal


Marion Smith Service Award

The Marion Smith Service Award will be presented to alumni who have distinguished themselves by providing a level of service to the community, the university, and/or society above and beyond what is expected in their position as they made significant career contributions.  Smith received his master’s degree in mechanical engineering in 1947 from Ohio State.  He served for more than 37 years as a faculty member and associate dean of the College of Engineering, giving generously of his time to students and alumni.

2023: Lisa McCauley


E.G. Bailey Entrepreneurship Award

The E.G. Bailey Entrepreneurship Award is presented to alumni who have demonstrated exceptional entrepreneurship as they invented new products, processes, or procedures that have been successfully manufactured, adapted, or utilized. This award honors E.G. Bailey, a 1903 graduate of Ohio State, and inventor of the Bailey meter. Bailey left an engineering job to develop and manufacture his meter which dramatically improved boiler efficiency and has been used world-wide.

2023: Brian Reese


Alan Gregory Loofbourrow Business Achievement Award

The Alan Gregory Loofbourrow Business Achievement Award is presented to alumni who have been recognized for their significant contributions in guiding a successful product or service business, major industrial organization, or government entity. Loofbourrow, a 1925 graduate of Ohio State, was elevated to chief engineer of the Chrysler Division by 1945.  Continual advances took him to the position of vice president and director of engineering, to vice president in charge of quality and reliability, and to Chrysler’s Vice President of Engineering, from which he retired.  During his career, he was one of the industry’s foremost spokespersons for the engineering profession.

2023: Denis Garagic


Ada Irene Pressman Award

The Ada Irene Pressman Award is presented to alumni who have made noteworthy contributions to their chosen professions while overcoming significant obstacles or barriers to the completion of their education and/or obstacles in their careers. Pressman was a 1950 graduate of the department. During a long career with the Bechtel Power Corporation, she provided technical direction and management for numerous projects involving the control of nuclear and fossil fuel power generating plants, as well as contributing significantly to the management and growth of the Society for Women Engineers. This was previously known as the Bertha Lamme Feicht Award.

2023: Award not conferred